Route Drivers never DR'ing to keep stop count down

G.V. Rush

All Encompassing Member
I'm a cover driver and constantly see routes with envelopes and small parcels with service crosses that can very safely be released. Pisses me off cause when I get put on a split route it's always blowed out cause of antics said above. Is this a normal practice for veterans? I just feel like you should do the job and stop gaming the system. Rant over, let the backlash begin.

rod

Retired 22 years
I'm a cover driver and constantly see routes with envelopes and small parcels with service crosses that can very safely be released. Pisses me off cause when I get put on a split route it's always blowed out cause of antics said above. Is this a normal practice for veterans? I just feel like you should do the job and stop gaming the system. Rant over, let the backlash begin.

Let me guess----this happens on Fridays mostly?

CHALLY9TX

Maybe you as a cover driver think it can be released but the normal driver knows better than to DR it. I'm not saying drivers don't try and game the system but the normal drivers know when to get signatures to avoid DFUs

Fragile

If I bring back a ton of send of again's they might take a split off me because I'm heavy but it won't keep stop count down. If bring back minimal send again's I pretty much have the same stop count with the entire route.

Unless the route driver is a slug, cover drivers have a hard time keeping up and they do it by releasing, meanwhile a route driver will get signatures and avoid tracers just as efficiently just because he/she already has familiarity with the route that you can only develop after being there everyday.

Indecisi0n

Some customers are POS and call in missing packages when you know they got them. I required a signature from them before it's even put in the board. When I was a cover if the route driver required a signature than I followed suit.