Seasonal hiring questions

So I applied to a seasonal package handler online, had an appointment today with other applicants and while I was there, we were given the option to apply for either a seasonal driver or seasonal package handler...

I want to be a driver and I was told they are in need of a lot of seasonal drivers so I decided to go for it. The women in charge had us hand in a paper stating which position we were interested in interviewing for so I decided to try at the driving position since that is really what I want to ultimately pursue. I'm hoping that if I can get my foot in the door as a seasonal driver, I'll have a better chance as getting hired on full time after peak season as FT package handler which will eventually lead to a FT driving position.

So I have a few questions...

I meant to ask this there but how long will it take for me to hear back for an interview or if they decide not to interview me are they going to give me a heads up?

I don't have any experience in package delivery, but I have driven stick shift my whole life and only have one driving violation from the past 3 years (non moving violation - equipment used improperly or obstructed) and I have never been in an accident. So the second question, am I better off just calling and saying I'd prefer to interview for the package handler? I put on the paper that I am interested in package handling but I am afraid that if they decide not to hire or interview me for driving position I will lose out on the opportunity of getting in with the company.

Appreciate any help or input anyone can provide.

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
Absolutely go for seasonal driver. Let them know at the interview you are seeking permanent employment with the company, and if seasonal driver is not available than package handler or driver helper would be acceptable to you. Important note: there is no FT package handler job (at least that you would get as a new hire), only PT.