Tips for New Loader

trig

I've been working at UPS for like 2 months as an unloader but today I got moved to loading. They started me off at 3 trucks and we had about 9,500 pieces on the day. By the end of the day I felt completely demoralized... the sups had to help me a few times to clear stacked packages. Not sure if this is normal for people just starting or if I
am uncommonly poor at this.
Anyways, what are some useful tips/practices you guys have picked up to make yourselves more efficient? Also, how much were you guys loading when you first started? Any and all advice is appreciated.

Cheers

MzTeaze

I've been working at UPS for like 2 months as an unloader but today I got moved to loading. They started me off at 3 trucks and we had about 9,500 pieces on the day. By the end of the day I felt completely demoralized... the sups had to help me a few times to clear stacked packages. Not sure if this is normal for people just starting or if I
Anyways, what are some useful tips/practices you guys have picked up to make yourselves more efficient? Also, how much were you guys loading when you first started? Any and all advice is appreciated.

Cheers

You get better over time. Just keep practicing.

Build from left to right, trying to level packages as best you can. Try to put heaviest packages on floor with lightest packages going up the wall. (Ideally)

Pay attention to boxes that are unusually heavy vs size & age of box. Trying to put those up too high in a wall can cause walls to fall.

If you can, save small sort bags for top of walk to fill in gaps.

Use a load stand! Most guys won't even if they are too short. BUT, it can be helpful for heavy packages as it can take some of the pressure off of bending down regularly to pick up passages from rollers.

If you get backed up, take a few seconds to pick off odd ball sized packages (longs & irregs) - scan them and push off rollers to make space. It can help break jams at top.

Cheers