Brothers in Waco, TX

Lanthanaas

Hey, guys! I'm currently a driver in the Portland, OR area. I'm considering moving my family and transferring down to the Waco, TX area. We currently have a trip planned to actually visit the area to see if we like it, but I was hoping to connect with some UPSers down there and see if there are differences with the job. I've heard wages and benefits can vary by areas in the US. I also know our union is stronger up here than some places. I'd love a full rundown of the driver's life down there! Any insights are greatly appreciated.

Hey, guys! I'm currently a driver in the Portland, OR area. I'm considering moving my family and transferring down to the Waco, TX area. We currently have a trip planned to actually visit the area to see if we like it, but I was hoping to connect with some UPSers down there and see if there are differences with the job. I've heard wages and benefits can vary by areas in the US. I also know our union is stronger up here than some places. I'd love a full rundown of the driver's life down there! Any insights are greatly appreciated.
I know if you leave ups in a lot of areas... You can't transfer, unless under a heart ship. You have to quit... I have old buddies that left NJ to FL to Drive and had to quit and get rehired... If you haven't checked into that you should... Good luck.

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
I know two drivers that moved to a different state, they had to quit UPS and get rehired at the new location. They lose seniority and had to start at the bottom of the pay scale and go through progression all over again.

Lanthanaas

I was told by management in my area that transfers are difficult in any case, but easier if it's for education. I know my seniority would reset, regardless, but pay rate should remain intact as I am vested.

PT Car Washer