Interviewing Monday, Tell me the hard truth.

SBTY_Syndrome

Center Managers Hate Me
Newbie here.

As the title suggests, I am interviewing for a FT (Temp 2018) Package Delivery Driver off the street.

From what I have gathered by reading past threads, it is a very select few that actually get chosen. I applied on a whim and from what I have read, delivery seems like a good job and very sought after. But I am afraid of a bait and switch. Bring me in for delivery and sell me on loading stating I have to "work my way up".
Now I am a very hard worker, I workout 5 days a week and have been a fitness trainer and a gymnastics instructor. So physical and mental endurance is something I can handle. But I've also heard a lot of horror stories.

What are the odds that I can get the job off the street? (a pretty populated area not rural)
If I do have to work my way up, will I really have to wait years to get a driving position? and is it worth it?
If I don't get a drivers position, would it be better to get my CDL and reapply rather than taking loading and waiting?

(inb4 "you're a p.o.s you gotta shovel crap before you rank up" tough guy comment)

Box Ox

If I do have to work my way up, will I really have to wait years to get a driving position? and is it worth it?

Wait time is generally 1 day up to 15 years, depending on our location's needs. It's a few years at my center.

(inb4 "you're a p.o.s you gotta shovel crap before you rank up" tough guy comment)

a27b46227cbd5ce9c6c37885a5df4a14ca326ea459c936f0c41b848d89d0d128.jpg

would it be better to get my CDL and reapply rather than taking loading and waiting?

Don't need a CDL for package delivery driving and makes no difference in hiring if you have one as far as I know.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

OP----ignore the previous posts.

I will try my best to answer your questions.