Punishment for telematics?

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by UPWes, May 16, 2019.

1. UPWes

UPWes New Member

We are currently being scolded in PCMs about our backing speeds exceeding 5mph and whoever isn't under 5mph will recieve a warning letter. In our contract it mentions no driver shall be "discharged" based soley on telematics. However we can receive warning notices after having a verbal couseling session. I personally feel it was more of an attempt to intimidate us which also is mentioned in the contract. Does the PCM count as the verbal counseling and is the warning letter for backing speed even allowed. Keep in mind I am a relatively new driver so some of this is unclear.

2. Future

Future Victory Ride

A lot of that language was changed in the “New” contract ... I am not sure how 2 interpret it either at this point .... follow the proper methods the best you can is what I can say

3. KOG72

KOG72 I’m full of it

Just throw the warning letter in the same trash can as the safe driving awards,they both me the same nowadays.

• Winner Winner x 5
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  4. RolloTony Brown Town

RolloTony Brown Town Active Member

Section 6. Technology and Discipline
    No driver shall be discharged based solely upon information received from GPS, telematics, or any successor system that similarly tracks or surveils a driver’s movements unless he/she engages in dishonesty (defined for the purposes of this paragraph as any intentional act or omission by an employee where he/she intends to defraud the Company). A driver’s failure to accurately recall what is reflected by the technology shall not by itself be considered dishonesty. The Company must confirm by direct observation or other corroborating evidence any other violations warranting discharge. The degree of discipline dealing with off-area offenses shall not be changed because of the use of the above- mentioned systems .