wide load

Starting wage is a waste of time.
I've been perusing the forums for a while now and I keep reading that the P-sup position only seems worthwhile if you're IN college looking to get a degree. Here's the catch for me though: I already HAVE a BA in History. Which I can't find a job with so now I'm stuck here (and I hate wording it like that. I don't really feel "stuck" but it is frustrating that I am not able to do what I have dreamed of doing. UPS is second best though). So with all that in consideration, being that I WANT this to be my career since my degree isn't getting me anything, should I bite the bullet and continue with being a part-time handler and let the opportunities naturally come? Or should I go on and take the P-sup tests?
Drive

Catatonic

Nine Lives
Lexington, KY Hub. People say I've been a beast on PD-5 as a part-time handler so I'm assuming I'm doing a more than satisfactory job.
When I spoke of 'job performance', it was in relation to 'job performance as a P/T Supervisor.
There needs to be a specific skill set match or a perceived skill in management.
The most perceived need in management material at UPS is 'the ability to get things done through others' which is known euphemistically as "meet or beat your agreed upon goals".
Good luck on your decision ... but I leave you with this observation, people work 12 hour days at UPS for one reason - 'wages, benefits and pension'. Is that compatible with your life goals? Either as Union or Non-Union UPS employee.

CoolStoryBro

I've been perusing the forums for a while now and I keep reading that the P-sup position only seems worthwhile if you're IN college looking to get a degree.

What are you trying to accomplish? are you going to retire from UPS? Do you want a normal day job while working part time at UPS? I have never seen a part time supervisor go from part time to full time in my center. They all quit eventually.