Explain to me the progression in pay

Hroller

I'm a seasonal guy. To be honest I don't entirely understand the contract. What I do know is that the longer you have been with UPS,
you are rewarded with annual raises. What is the thinking regarding this?

Why I ask....as a seasonal driver, I make $16 an hour. A guy who is driving for UPS for more than 10 years, gets $10 or even more per hour than I do.
Yet, here I am doing the same job.....and I can do it faster and more efficiently than most of the permanent drivers in our center. I'm usually an hour or more under the plan. Why is that person paid more?

Many years ago I worked in a steel mill. The way our contract there was written....let's say I'm a guy newly hired and I'm pushing a broom. I would get $10 an hour. Now a guy who has been there 25 years is pushing a similar broom. His wage is exactly the same. I realize that I am the younger guy and can probably push that broom more efficiently, but I believe in same money for the same job. Don't get me wrong, the old geezer with 25 years deserves his 6 weeks vacation to my 1 week due to his loyal longevity....but he doesn't deserve extra pay for doing the same job.

That doesn't seem to be the case at UPS

Bagels

Family Leave Fridays!!!
All regular UPS drivers earn the same top rate of pay, after they complete a three-year wage progression. Theoretically, wage progressions represent the learning curve associated with a job; e.g. a newly hired employee isn't going to provide the same level of production as a 10-year guy. Unfortunately, this isn't always true in a manual labor-intensive environment.