Do you have a valid non CDL Class C license?

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by That Guy In Brown, Oct 31, 2019.

1. That Guy In Brown

That Guy In Brown New Member

Hi all,

I was a driver helper and sorter several years ago. Left UPS and have been driving a city bus on a class B CDL since then. That's now ending and I'd like to apply for a seasonal driver position back at UPS but the application says, "Do you have a valid non CDL Class C license?" I know my B is "above" the standard C and should be backwards compatible, but the way they worded the question made me wonder if they turn away class B and *require* a class C. Any help or advice is appreciated. thanks.

2. scooby0048

scooby0048 This page left intentionally blank

I can't believe you really have to ask that question and I can't believe I'm actually going to respond. You need a license to drive at UPS. The class C or D is the lowest form of license you can get above a learner's permit.

They were right, it was pretty easy and fulfilling being nice. Thanks!

3. Yeet

Yeet Inbound, turnaround, go to town

Class A, B, and C are CDL’s aren’t they? Class D is a basic drivers license.

4. scooby0048

Class C or D in some states is the basic license. I don't remember which ones use the C and which ones use the D.

5. Yeet

Yeet Inbound, turnaround, go to town

Gotcha. Just looked it up and apparently there are non-CDL class C’s which basically means you can drive any non commercial vehicle weighing less than 26,000 pounds.

6. scooby0048

Ya know, there are even some states that require a valid chauffeur's to work for UPS.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • List
  7. That Guy In Brown

Yes, but the way the question is worded made me wonder if they, for whatever reason, don't want someone with a class B. Back when I was with them driving wasn't on my radar so I don't know what they're looking for other than what the application says. Thanks.

8. scooby0048

What state are you in?