New union contract - package handlers

Nickstixx

Package Handler
So, I just started as a package handler a couple weeks ago at the Portland Hub.
I am new to the union, and have never been apart of one before. So I'm not sure how to voice any opinions or what not, or even how to contact my union rep.
One issue I would like to ask for the next contract has to do with the eligibility of benefits.
As the current contract sits, we don't receive any benefits except for the tuition reimbursement program until after our first year.
I'm sure you all are aware of the high turnover rates in the package handler position.
I think that if they granted benefits earlier, maybe after probation period that it would retain more workers.
Do any of you have any insight to this, and why they wait an entire year before they grant those benefits?
Curious to hear everyone's thoughts.

Turdferguson

Just a turd
So, I just started as a package handler a couple weeks ago at the Portland Hub.
I am new to the union, and have never been apart of one before. So I'm not sure how to voice any opinions or what not, or even how to contact my union rep.
One issue I would like to ask for the next contract has to do with the eligibility of benefits.
As the current contract sits, we don't receive any benefits except for the tuition reimbursement program until after our first year.
I'm sure you all are aware of the high turnover rates in the package handler position.
I think that if they granted benefits earlier, maybe after probation period that it would retain more workers.
Do any of you have any insight to this, and why they wait an entire year before they grant those benefits?
Curious to hear everyone's thoughts.

They did it for two reasons.
1. People were getting hired and using the benefits then quitting.
2. Two part timers don't vote, so their voice gets drowned out. Change that by taking part in your local union and having your voice heard